2012 Indiana Senate Race - Candidates, Debates and Primary Results

This page displays the information for the Indiana senate race. This includes candidates, dates, and political views. The tables below show the candidates for the general election with an option to compare those candidates after the primary. This is followed by the primary candidates and the number of political views we have for each representative. Selecting one of these representatives takes you to the profile for this candidate and a full list of their political positions, speeches, and controversies.

2012 Indiana Senate Race - General Election Candidates

General Election Candidates and Results
Indiana senate election - class or district 1
49.9%1263885DJoe Donnelly
44.4%1124058RRichard Mourdock
5.8%146002LAndrew Horning
Election Information for Indiana
Primary DateMay 08, 2012
General DateNovember 06, 2012
IncumbentRichard Lugar
Incumbent StatusLost in Primary
Election ProjectionSolid Democrat
Presidential Election2012 Election

2012 Indiana Senate Race - Primary Election Candidates

Democrats - Primary Election
Democrat senate Primary Election in Indiana - class or district 1
100%193869Joe Donnelly30
Republicans - Primary Election
Republican senate Primary Election in Indiana - class or district 1
60%373080Richard Mourdock18
40%248169Richard Lugar40

Description of Election

The Situation

Republican Senator Richard Lugar lost in a primary challenge to State Treasurer Richard Mourdock. This was partly because of a growing discontent with politicians that have been in office for decades, and partly because of conservative opposition to parts of Senator Lugar's history. The Democrats selected Congressman Joe Donnelly to go up against Mourdock. Donnelly did not face an opponent in the primary. The Libertarians selected Andrew Horning as their candidate. Mr Horning ran for the Governor of Indiana in 2008 and has run for Congress in Indiana as well.

In 2010, the state of Indiana elected Republican Senator Dan Coats back to the seat that he lost to Evan Bayh in 1998. With a history of choosing candidates over party, the Indiana Senate race is likely to be labeled as leaning Republican up until a few weeks before the election when it may turn to a tossup depending upon.


There was only one debate in the primary between Treasurer Mourdock and Senator Lugar. While the debate was substantive, there were no real revelations.


April 11, 2012RLugar - Mourdock DebateRichard Lugar, Richard Mourdock

Important Dates

DateImportant Item
April 09, 2012Last day to register to vote for the May 8, 2012 primary elections.
May 08, 2012Primary election day for the House, Senate, Governor, and President.
May 22, 2012First day to register to vote for the November 6, 2012 general election.
October 09, 2012Last day to register to vote for the November 6, 2012 general election.
November 06, 2012General election date - Governor, House, Senate, and President on the ballot.

Past Election Results

Election Results for Senate seat class 1 in Indiana in 2012
Past Election Results - US Senate Seat Class 1 - Indiana
Richard Lugar
David Johnson
Richard Lugar
James Jontz
Richard G. Lugar
Jack Wickes
Richard G. Lugar
Floyd J Fithian
Richard G Lugar